Frontier Awards 2024


Note: the submissions deadline has closed for this year. Stay tuned for the results, to be presented on this page!

The 2024 Awards cover poems published, January 2023—February 2024, in seven tagged categories: 1) Haiku, 2) Alterku (extended-form haiku),* 3) Haibun, 4) Linked/Collaborative, 5) Sequence, 6) Short poem/Prose-poem, 7) Visual poetry.

To be considered, please send up to 20 unpublished poems to by February 15, 2024. All works accepted for journal publication will be included in the contest.

Please view the published poems at: Our judges are: Jennifer Hambrick, Michelle Tennison, Clayton Beach, and Richard Gilbert.

Over the last four years, the Heliosparrow Journal has published more than 1,500 poems from more than 150 authors.

*Alterku (extended-form haiku) — showcases short poetry drawing strongly on haiku form, technique or style.

Heliosparrow Frontiers header art by Cherie Hunter Day.